In brightest day, In blackest night

Standard

No evil shall escape my sight
Let those who worship evil’s might,
Beware my power… Green Lantern’s light!

I’ve been excited for DC’s New 52 (and you would know this if you’ve been following my 7 posts :P) and I’ve also been excited to watch the Green Lantern movie.

Ive read a lot of reviews that said the movie sucked and everything, one said a  cast reboot, but here’s what I think of it. (The opinions expressed are those of the author of this blog and not anyone else’s.)

I like the movie.

I honestly wasn’t sure about Ryan Reynolds as Hal (But then again I wasn’t sure about Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man and especially not Sherlock Holmes, but I thought those were great movies.) After seeing the movie, I think that he did a great job of acting, sure he might’ve been able to do a better job, but you can only do so much with what you’re given (and in this case, the script and also how the director wants it)

I’m not saying the director was bad, but let’s talk about the direction that this movie went into. What’s the name of this movie? Green Lantern. Does Green Lantern happen mostly on Earth? Not at all. I thought the movie had quite a bit of Earth in it, and not much of space. There need to be more space, and maybe not so much Earth. Like there was one scene (that he’s an uncle in) I’m thinking maybe they could’ve taken it out I think?

I did read a review – http://www.aintitcool.com/node/50654 (the part that I mentioned the not as much space as there should be and less Earth in it.

But all in all, I think it was a good movie, sure there could have more parts with Hal Jordon as Green Lantern, but it’s all about the script like I said.

I’m not really super hardcore familiar with Green Lantern, although I do like the New 52 GL books. Though I do wish I did know more about it. Thought’s, comments, questions, anything else you want to say? I’ll read them and answer them.

Oh, and all superhero/mostly every other movie nowadays, has the little extra in it. You know where to find it. But if you know Green Lantern, you basically know what it is and who it pertains too

(I also just did a google search about a Green Lantern 2 right before this and after watching the movie, and it looks like  there could be one. I do like the cast, though they want to make the next one more edgy and dark and focus on action, and I’ll just say, maybe it work, and also possibly work on the script a little more.)

Leave a Reply

