So, I’m fasting

Standard

But I’ll have to explain.

So the pastor at the church I go to, along with his family and someone else from the church, went to Africa back in March for 3 weeks. Fast forward to about now, he challenged us with 2 Chronicles 7:14

14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humblethemselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgivetheir sin and will heal their land. (NIV)

 

so basically for the last 40 days, 7 days a week, spending 14 minutes in prayer. Starting today was a fast that he talked about (Here comes the Africa trip that I mentioned). He challenged us to eat only rice and beans, because that’s basically what 70% of the world eats. So for  breakfast this morning I had beans with rice, and for lunch today I had rice with beans (see how I’m mixing things up? crafty, aren’t I?) Anyways, we’re doing that (my mom and I, not my sister or dad) and the fast is for 10 days. So far, I actually feel pretty good right now. To further it, the pastor also challenged us to fast something else (He’s giving up coffee) And what am I giving up for ten days? Facebook. (So if any of you Facebook friends of mine see this, you’ll know why I’m not on.)I do spend some time on it, but most of the time I kinda still keep the Facebook tab open, but I don’t even bother with it, or I leave it on when I’m away and someone talks to me and I’m like oh, man, I should not have left it on.

You could be thinking, “Hey John, why didn’t you give up WordPress for ten days?” I had thought about it, but  I can’t, since I’ll need to be posting book reviews, therefore I can’t fast t his, Even though I haven’t posted anything in a while and that should totally change. Tomorrow night we’re having a supper at the church (rice and beans, wooo!) and they’ll be giving a presentation on Africa, which I am really excited too see all the pictures and video (and they have a ton of that stuff, which is sweet.)

Leave a Reply

