Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist

Standard

 

“As a follow up to her two bestselling books, Bittersweet and Cold Tangerines, author and blogger Shauna Niequist returns with the perfect read for those who love food and value the community and connection of family and friends around the table.” (Taken From Chapters.ca)

First off, if anyone’s thinking what I’m doing having a book with the word wine in the title, don’t worry, I’m not drinking nor will I ever.

Secondly, I like food, and I like to eat. This book has both, though I can’t eat the book, though I can eat the food that’s talked about in the book.

Why did I get this book in the first place? When I got the email regarding reviewing this, it said the  book had recipes in it and that’s what drew me to this book. Though I am a guy, some of the stuff, that’s talked about really wasn’t for me.

Another thing that I like are stories, I love to read and this book definitely has stories. Stories about food and cooking and meals and gathering with friends and family for a dinner party or just friends sharing a meal. I like to cook, and I absolutely agree with the author of the book. Food brings everyone together. People can laugh and cry at the table while sharing a meal or  just sit there because the meal was great and they can’t get up because they ate to much.

Life is kind of like cooking. We keep trying new recipes out, or some of the old ones with a new twist to it. We need to try new things with our day to day life or it will become stale like old bread.

I haven’t tried any of the recipes yet, but am planning on it sometime, just not sure when. Food connects with everyone no matter where you are. It’s like music, being a language that everyone connects with and you don’t have to say anything, food speaks for itself.

This is such a great book. and I had many favourite parts. I had one that I was going to put in here, but I completely forgot what it was, but a new part was brought to  my attention when reading this and it’s something that completely blew my mind away.

Shauna was talking about communion (I just got the book because recipes in it, I didn’t know it would have anything like this in it! exciting) and in referencing the title, I can’t remember the exact words, but she talks about how the bread is what the peasants would eat, and the wine is what the rich would drink. I never thought of it like that before, simply amazing. Basically saying, it doesn’t matter where you come from or what your background is. Anyone can follow Jesus whether you are rich or poor.

There’s Beauty in it, there’s beauty in food and cooking and sharing a meal with people you know, or sharing a meal with people who bring people that you on’t even know. It doesn’t have to be anything difficult at all.

Read this book for yourself and experience it. Spend time making the recipes. Come around the table with friends and family.

This is an Advanced Reader’s copy courtesy of Zondervan for review purposes

Leave a Reply

