Camera Question for all of you photographers out there.

Standard

Topic – compact ilc cameras

In February, our church is planning on going on a missions trip to Costa Rica to help missionaries that we are sponsoring.
Anyways, to the matter at hand.
I really wasn’t on planning to take my Canon Rebel T2i with me because it is big and bulky and yeah, just carrying that around with everything that we’d be doing might no be a good idea.

So I’ve been thinking about ilc cameras. Basically it’s like a dslr but in a compact camera body. I’m not too familiar with these so I’ve been doing my research, and that’s another reason why I am asking all of you for your opinion/advice/help.
I’m not looking to spend a huge fortunate, but I would like some good quality pictures (not saying the a kodak easy share isn’t bad, but I might want to put this into focus.)
I’m not sure if anyone else has anything better they’ve found, but after doing research one that I like in particular s the Sony a5000. It seems compact, and even with the kit lens when turned off it compacts to 30mm, which is crazy! Stereo sound too!

The one thing that I’ve read aboutt that I like is that you can download apps through the camera like a time-lapse add-on and such, but my question is do they get downloaded to the sd card that you have in the camera or does it go into the internal memory of the camera?

The Sony a6000 looks great, but it’s the price tag. I’ve found the a5000 for about 398 which isn’t too bad, though I”m maybe seeing if I can find it cheaper (Buying just the body and a separate lens on eBay looks like it might be around the same price.)

Any advice/anything else would be greatly appreciated!

I don’t really think I want to go just point and shoot since I want also quality, but also video quality as well.

Edit – Even though I won’t be using this camera a lot, would you suggest I go with an ilc or Point and Shoot?

4 thoughts on “Camera Question for all of you photographers out there.

  1. since you already use a canon, you might want to stick with that platform. the “g” series canon has had some good reviews and i have used canon point and shoots and think they are some of the best. i use nikons so for me to say good about canons is a big deal. i would not go for a camera with changeable lens, since you may already have them for your canon. so, “g” camera maybe the best as it is a pro quality point and shoot. hope you have a great time.

Leave a Reply

